

Broadway • Off Broadway • Off Off Broadway

2019 HENRY HEWES DESIGN AWARDS HONOREES ANNOUNCED

55th Annual Awards Scheduled for October 7

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

New York – August 21, 2019 - The 2019 Henry Hewes Design Award Honors for the 2018–2019 theater season were announced today and will be presented at the awards ceremony on October 7 in New York.

The 5 recipients are scenic designer Charlie Corcoran (*The O'Casey Trilogy*, Irish Repertory Theatre), costume designer Montana Levi Blanco (*Ain't No Mo'*, Public Theater), lighting designers Amith Chandrashaker (*Boesman and Lena*, Signature Theatre) and Yi Zhao (*The House That Will Not Stand*, New York Theatre Workshop), and sound designer Mikaal Sulaiman (*Fairview*, Soho Rep).

"All five of the 2019 honorees are receiving their first award from the Hewes committee," said Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, chairman of the Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee. "We are delighted to honor them for their brilliant work and superb contributions to the world of New York theater design."

For the 2019 honors, 94 theater artists were nominated for outstanding artistry in 63 productions presented during the 2018-2019 New York theater season on, off, and off-off Broadway. (A complete list of 2019 nominees follows this awards announcement.)

2019 Henry Hewes Design Awards Honorees:

Scenic Design: Charlie Corcoran (*The O'Casey Trilogy*, Irish Repertory Theatre)

Costume Design:

Montana Levi Blanco (Ain't No Mo', Public Theater)

Lighting Design: Amith Chandrashaker (Boesman and Lena, Signature Theatre)

Lighting Design: Yi Zhao (*The House That Will Not Stand*, New York Theatre Workshop)

Notable Effects (Sound Design) Mikaal Sulaiman (Fairview, Soho Rep)

Nominations:

Montana Levi Blanco led all artists with four nominations for his design work. Dede M. Ayite and Laura Jellinek each received three nominations for their designs. Fourteen other designers received two nominations each for their work during the 2018-2019 season. *Beetlejuice*, the Broadway musical, received six nominations. Three productions (*Head Over Heels, Oklahoma!* and *Spaceman*) each received four nominations. Seven productions each received three nominations and twenty other productions each received two nominations.

The HHDA Committee named honorees in four categories: Scenic Design, Costume Design, Lighting Design and Notable Effects. As of the 2019 awards, the Committee has bestowed 313 honors on 204 artists representing 273 productions.

About Henry Hewes Design Awards:

These annual awards honor designers for work in venues on Broadway, off Broadway and off-off Broadway, recognizing not only the traditional categories of Scenic Design, Costume Design and Lighting Design, but also "Notable Effects," which encompass sound, music, video, projections, puppetry, and other creative elements. All nominated designs must have originated in United States productions. The Hewes Awards Committee annually considers more than 200 productions when making its nominations.

Known as the Maharam Awards at their inception in 1965, the Hewes Awards were later renamed the American Theatre Wing Design Awards in honor of the Wing's generous sponsorship. In 1999, they became the Henry Hewes Design Awards in honor of noted critic Henry Hewes, who created the awards and served as a board member of the American Theatre Wing until his death in 2006 at age 89.

The Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee includes theater critics Jeffrey Eric Jenkins, chair; David Barbour; David Cote; Glenda Frank; Helen Shaw; Michael Sommers; and Martha Wade Steketee. The awards are sponsored by the **Henry Hewes Foundation for the Theater Arts**.

###

2019 HENRY HEWES DESIGN AWARDS NOMINEES

(2019 Honorees in **bold**)

SCENIC DESIGN NOMINEES

Amy Rubin	Gloria: A Life
Arnulfo Maldonado	Catch as Catch Can
Arnulfo Maldonado	Sugar in Our Wounds
Beowulf Boritt	Bernhardt/Hamlet
Carolyn Mraz	Cabin
Carolyn Mraz	Spaceman
Catherine Cornell	Mac Beth
Charlie Corcoran	The O'Casey Trilogy
Christopher and Justin Swader	Antigone
Dane Laffrey	Lewiston/Clarkston
Daniel Zimmerman	Plano
David Korins	Beetlejuice
Jian Jung	Suicide Forest
Julian Crouch	Curse of the Starving Class
Julian Crouch	Head Over Heels
Ken Rothchild	The Life of Galileo
Laura Jellinek	Oklahoma!
Laura Jellinek	Rags Parkland Sings Songs of the Future
Louisa Thompson	Everyone's Fine With Virginia Woolf
Mariana Sanchez	Marys Seacole
Matt Saunders	"Daddy"
Matt Saunders	Thunderbodies

COSTUME DESIGN NOMINEES

Alexis Forte

Our Lady of 121st Street

Alice Tavener Amy Clark Andreea Mincic Ann Roth **Arianne Phillips** Ásta Bennie Hostetter Ásta Bennie Hostetter **Bob Mackie** Bobby Frederick Tilley II Dede M. Ayite Dede M. Ayite Dede M. Ayite Glenna Ryer Jane Greenwood Jeff Mahshie Jessica Pabst Kaye Voyce Kaye Voyce Montana Levi Blanco Montana Levi Blanco Montana Levi Blanco Montana Levi Blanco Nicole Slaven Paloma Young Paul Tazewell Somie Pak Terese Wadden **Toni-Leslie James** William Ivey Long William Ivey Long

Suicide Forest Clueless Strange Window: The Turn of the Screw The Prom Head Over Heels Mrs. Murray's Menagerie Dance Nation The Cher Show **Be More Chill** If Pretty Hurts Ugly Must Be a Muhfucka By the Way, Meet Vera Stark Slave Play Emma and the Mad Monk Mother of the Maid Kiss Me, Kate Mac Beth Marys Seacole Everyone's Fine With Virginia Woolf Ain't No Mo' Fabulation, or the Re-Education of Undine The House That Will Not Stand *Eddie and Dave* Henry VI: Shakespeare's Trilogy in Two Part. Alice by Heart Ain't Too Proud Marv Stuart Oklahoma! Bernhardt/Hamlet **Beetlejuice** Tootsie

LIGHTING DESIGN NOMINEES

Adam Honoré Ain't No Mo' Adam Honoré Carmen Jones Amith Chandrashaker **Boesman and Lena** Rags Parkland Sings the Songs of the **Barbara Samuels** Future Ben Stanton The Last Days of Disco Ben Stanton The Mother Bradley King Alice by Heart Howell Binkley Ain't Too Proud

The Boys in the Band
Plano
"Daddy"
Midnight at the Never Get
Suicide Forest
Mac Beth
Marys Seacole
Slave Play
Beetlejuice
Head Over Heels
The Cher Show
Mother of the Maid
All Is Calm: The Christmas Truce of 1914
The O'Casey Trilogy
The Prom
Henry VI: Shakespeare's Trilogy in Two Parts
Everyone's Fine With Virginia Woolf
Oklahoma!
Spaceman
Lewiston/Clarkston
Is This a Room
The House That Will Not Stand

NOTABLE EFFECTS NOMINEES

Alex Basco Koch (Projection Design)	Be More Chill
Andrew Lazarow (Projection Design)	Head Over Heels
Austin Switser (Video Design)	Strange Window: The Turn of the Screw
Charles G. LaPointe (Hair And Wig Design)	Beetlejuice
Cookie Jordan (Hair, Wig, And Makeup Design)	Ain't No Mo'
Dan Dobson (Sound Design)	Cabin
Darron L. West (Sound Design)	The Bacchae
Elaine J. McCarthy (Projection Design)	Gloria: A Life
Eric Sluyter (Sound Design)	<i>The B-Side: "Negro Folklore From Texas State Prisons"</i>
Heather Carey, Simon Cleveland, Ryan Courtney, Shawn Davis, Carolyn Mraz, Leegrid Stevens (Production Design)	Spaceman

Hidenori Nakajo (Sound Design) Jane Shaw (Sound Design) Joshua Thorson (Projection Design) Katherine Freer (Projection Design) Leegrid Stevens (Sound Design) Matt Hubbs (Sound Design) Michael Curry (Puppetry Design) **Mikaal Sulaiman (Sound Design)**

Mikaal Sulaiman (Sound Design)

Peter Nigrini (Projection Design) Santo Loquasto (Scenic Effects) Wendall K. Harrington (Projection Design) Octet I Was Most Alive With You Oklahoma! The Peculiar Patriot Spaceman Boesman and Lena Beetlejuice **Fairview** Rags Parkland Sings the Songs of the Future Beetlejuice Gary: A Sequel to Titus Andronicus Little Rock

###

END OF 2019 HENRY HEWES DESIGN AWARDS NOMINEES LIST